High Spirits

A day in the life of show jumping’s stylish star.

At just 21, Lucy Deslauriers has a lot going on. The Grand Prix show jumping rider, who’s been in the. equestrian circuit since she was 5 years old, is finishing her senior year at the University of Pennsylvania, while also training and competing in her sport (here in Palm Beach from Thursday through Sunday) at the Olympic level during much of winter and spring. She’s also entering her fourth year as a partner rider with Hermès, which ensures her sartorial game (on and off the saddle) is always on point. Here, Deslauriers gives us a morning-to-night look at her busy itinerary.

7 am We have quite early mornings at the barn, especially on competition days. I usually wake up at around 7 am or earlier. I wish I could say otherwise, but I usually look at my phone first thing in the morning. 7:30 am I have a pretty specific skincare morning skincare routine that consists of washing my face, ice rolling, and putting on serums, moisturizers and sunscreen. After that, I get dressed. 7:45 am On a training day my typical outfit is almost always black or a variety of neutrals with my Hermès technical base layer on top, which protects me from the sun all day, Hermès breeches and a black belt. On a colder day, I’ll also wear my Hermès warm-up fleece. 8 am My ideal breakfast is egg whites, avocado and some Ezekiel toast, but most days it’s an iced coffee as I head out the door. 9 am Depending on my competition schedule, I typically go between the horse show and our training farm throughout the day, always communicating with everyone on my team in case competitions are running early or late.

If I am not competing, my day finishes earlier, but usually I am at the barn or horse show until the late afternoon either riding, training, scheduling, meeting with vets or farriers or doing something else. 12pm Lunch is usually a quick salad between training and competing. 2:30 pm When I am finished at the horse show or barn for the day, I like to fit in a workout, usually Pilates and some homework. 5:30 pm When I get home I usually watch my training videos. Then I typically go for a walk depending on the time. 7 pm Unless I’m very tired, I am pretty social, so I’d say many days I go out to eat with friends or family. If I stay in, dinner is something simple and healthy like salad with cauliflower rice and grilled salmon or chickpea pasta with veggies. 8:30 pm When I unwind at home at the end of the day, I usually watch sports or whatever series I happen to be binging. Right now, I’m watching Euphoria. 10 pm My evening grooming routine starts with the Lait VIP 02 cleanser by Biologique Recherche, then some Glow Drops by Dr. Barbara Sturm. I also use Dr. Jart+ Ceramidin cream at night for extra hydration. 11:15 pm I try to go to bed before midnight, read a book for 20 to 30 minutes to unwind and try to get eight hours of sleep, but most nights it’s just six.


Share this Article